Board of Directors

Chairman: Jesse R. Epting
(CD-4; Elected by Board, 12/18/12; Term expires 12/31/15)
Jesse R. Epting holds the current role of Director at BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina. In this role Mr. Epting is responsible for service for members as well as corporate claims development. Jesse is a 11+ year veteran of BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina and its subsidiaries. He has previous held multiple roles including Manager of operations as well as Director of Product Development. Jesse attended Anderson College and was a 4 year baseball letterman and received a B.A. in Public Affairs from Columbia Col. Jesse and his wife Megan reside in Columbia.

Vice-Chairman: Perrin Hall Brunson
(CD-1; Elected by Board, 12/18/12; Term expires 12/31/15)
Perrin Brunson is an online marketing professional who has worked with clients all over the country in a broad range of industries. When not working, she enjoys volunteering with the Logan Elementary School PTO and is the Chair of the Communications Committee for the Earlewood Community Citizens Organization. In her spare time, she enjoys relaxing on her porch with her husband Tyler, family, friends and neighbors in the beautiful Earlewood Neighborhood. She is the proud mother to two adorable daughters, Maggie and Sylvia.

Treasurer: Lawrence E. Flynn
(CD-3; Elected by Board, 12/18/12; term exp. 12/31/15)
A native of Spartanburg, SC, Lawrence E. Flynn III is a 2004 graduate of Duke University and a 2007 graduate of the University of South Carolina School of Law. Mr. Flynn is an attorney with Pope Zeigler Law Firm and concentrates on municipal finance. In addition to his work with the Columbia Parks and Recreation Foundation, he is involved in the Duke University Alumni Admissions Advisory Committee and the Columbia Attorney Basketball League, as well as a member of the Leadership Columbia Class of 2012.

Virginia L. Bedford
(CD-1; Elected by Board, 03/13/12; Term expires 03/12/15)
Virginia Bedford is a retired attorney who lives in the Earlewood Neighborhood. As Chair of the Parks Committee for Earlewood she has worked closely with the Department of Parks and Recreation over the past 10 years. She had a leadership role in forming the NOMA Bark Park and the NOMA Nature Trail at Earlewood Park as well as the Community Garden on River Drive.

Shawn D. Eubanks
Shawn D. Eubanks is an attorney and shareholder at Eubanks Law Firm, LLC, where he currently practices education law, employment law, and litigation. Shawn has been active in his community since he returned to Columbia in 2010. He has volunteered as a mentor for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Columbia, served as Chair of the South Carolina Bar’s Education Law Committee, and is an active member at Riverside Community Church. He is a proud alumnus of the University of South Carolina and enjoys attending Gamecock sporting events whenever he can.

Julie Anna Hartwell
Julie Anna Hartwell, Ph.D. is a veteran educator with twenty years of experience at the school, district and state levels. She is a former public school teacher and college adjunct professor. She currently works as an education consultant. She is a lifelong Columbia resident who attended Benedict College, the University of South Carolina and Clemson University. Dr. Hartwell is a member of Bishops’ Memorial A.M.E. Church in the Waverly community and currently lives in the Five Points area.

Tige Howie
Thomas Dry Howie, III (“Tige”) is Executive Director of Sales for Cromer’s P-Nuts. In this role he is responsible for acquisition and ongoing service of large accounts as well as oversight of all other sales channels. Originally from Abbeville, SC, Tige moved to Columbia in 1992 to attend the University of South Carolina where he earned a BA in Journalism. Tige also attended Hull University in Hull United Kingdom where he played American Football. Tige is an active member of the Central SC Alliance, Lexington Chamber of Commerce, Shandon United Methodist Church and enjoys time with his family, playing golf and Gamecock Athletics.

Mary K. Kessler
(CD-3; Elected by Board, 09/09/2014; Term expires 09/09/2017)
Mary Kessler is Executive Director of the Sen. Isadore E. Lourie Center (formerly the Capital Senior Center), a post she has held since 2008. In this capacity, Mary is responsible for leading the Center’s mission to provide opportunities for adults over 50 to remain physically fit, socially engaged, intellectually stimulated and independent. The Lourie Center is located within Maxcy Gregg Park, adjacent to Maxcy Gregg Pool. Mary received her BS in Psychology from Michigan State University.

In addition to her work at the Lourie Center, she has served on grant review committees for the United Way, the Maxcy Gregg Park Centennial Committee, Women in Philanthropy and the National Council on Aging/National Institute of Senior Centers as the delegate for SC. She presently serves on the State Executive Council of AARP-SC, and is active in the University Hill Neighborhood Association and with the Columbia Museum of Art.

Helen F. Munnerlyn
(CD-4; Appt. by City Council, 05/15/12; Term expires 05/31/15)
Helen Munnerlyn is executive director for Leadership South Carolina. Munnerlyn has more than 25 years experience in public and media relations. She served as primary spokeswoman for SC Commerce during Campbell, Beasley and Hodges administrations. She is a member of the S.C. Economic Developers Assoc., SC Assoc. of Non-Profit Organizations, former president of the SC Organization of Government Information Officers, and past officer of the Media Women of South Carolina. A native of Columbia, she is an active member of St. Joseph’s Catholic Church with her four children, Louise, Paul, Drew and Kathleen.

Mammie C. Price
(Continuing Member, until replacement is named)
Mammie Price grew up in an army family, the 7th of 11 siblings. She came to Columbia to attend college, and after earning several degrees has been a small business owner, a real estate agent and a manager at SCANA. She enjoys traveling, golf, reading and bowling. Mammie has been at SCANA for over 30 years, and is currently the Manager of Supplier Strategy. She has two daughters and, in the past few years, celebrated the birth of her first granddaughter.

Derek M. Raper
(CD-4; Elected by Board, 09/09/2014; Term expires 09/09/2017)
Derek Raper is a Vice President and Business Banking Relationship Manager at Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. In this role Derek is responsible for managing his existing customers experience with Wells Fargo as well as new customer acquisition. Derek attended Lander University, was a 2-year baseball letterman and received a B.S. in Business Administration. Derek also attended Clemson University and received a Masters in Business Administration. Derek was a member of the Leadership Columbia Class of 2008 and in his spare time, Derek enjoys classic cars, sports, music, and time with family.

Travis C. Wheeler
(CD-3; Elected by Board, 03/13/12; Term expires 03/12/15)
Former Chairman (2012-2013)

Travis Wheeler is an antitrust lawyer with Nexsen Pruet. He received a B.A. in Government from Wofford College, where he graduated summa cum laude. He received his law degree from Duke University School of Law, with high honors. Since 2012, he has served as an adjunct professor at USC Law School, where he teaches Antitrust Law and Law & Economics. He has been a member of the Columbia Parks and Recreation Foundation’s Board since 2008. He served as Vice Chairperson until 2012, when he was elected Chairperson. In addition to his work with the Columbia Parks and Recreation Foundation, he has served as President of the Rosewood Community Council and as Vice President of the Central Rosewood Neighborhood Association. He was elected to The State Media Company’s Ninth Annual “20 Under 40″ List in March 2012.

Staff Assistant: Lee Allyson Thompson
(COC Dept. of Parks and Recreation)

Upcoming Events